Election Season

Knyla Motley

The upcoming election is November 2, 2021. The candidates on the ballot for the election are Governor: Glenn A. Youngkin, Terry R. McAuliffe (72nd Governor of Virginia from 2014 to 2018) and Princess L. Blanding. Lieutenant Governor: Winsome E. Sears and Hala S. Ayala.  Member House of Delegates 14th District: D.W. “Danny” Marshall (has been a member since 2002) the third and S. M. “Rhett” Deitz.  Commonwealth Attorney: Michael J. Newman (was first elected in 2009 and then reelected in 2013 and 2017), Attorney General: Jason S. Miyares and Mark R. Herring (47th Attorney General of Virginia since 2014; as a Democrat he previously served in the Senate of Virginia since a 2006 special election representing the 33rd district made up parts of Fairfax and Loudoun counties).  Sheriff: Michael S. “Mike” Mondul (elected to Sheriff office in 2009) and Ril S. Mattison. Commissioner of Revenue: James M. “Jimmy” Gillie and Treasurer: Sheila A. Williamson-Branch (currently serving a fourth term as Treasurer).  The Vote Yes for DPS is a referendum to help remodel the schools.